Changed My WordPress Username and Lost My Blog – Or Did I?

Awhile back, when I first started back into WordPress, I made a random decision to change my username. When I did, suddenly none of my 4 blogs were attached to my new username! I thought after all the trouble to move from Blogger to WordPress, I’d lost everything to floating cyberspace.

Take this as a lesson to … anyone.

Never blog while tired.

Okay, now, do as I say and not as I do, because I could just about fall over right now.

When I changed my username my dashboard showed nothing. However, I quickly discovered that I could get into my blogs directly via the link while logged into WordPress. Great, but even if I did that, going back to my dashboard showed nothing again.

After posting to one of the community forums, and sufficiently freaking out, I decided I’d just give it a little time. After all, my blog wasn’t lost at least. I walked away for awhile.

Best decision ever. After coming back a little later, my blogs were all back, accessible via my dashboard, everything was normal and where it should be. It’s been a few months now, and everything is totally normal from day to day.

This serves as a heads up that if you got on WordPress, created a blog, and then decided to change your username… It may look bad at first, but it should clear itself up. Things done online, such as blogs, don’t always update everything right away. I knew this, but I forgot it at the time.

Again, stay away from your blog when you’re tired – or at least don’t do anything permanent! (Yes, changing your username on WordPress is a permanent action. WordPress warns that your original username is reserved and cannot be taken back.)

Another reason not to blog while tired – I didn’t even need to change my username in the first place. It just sounded good at the time! Sheesh.

This entry was posted in Blogging, General Techie, Troubleshooting and Help. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Changed My WordPress Username and Lost My Blog – Or Did I?

  1. Harnew says:

    Lesson learned-never blog while tired.

    • Heather says:

      Haha, I suppose I reiterated that a little too much, eh? Then again, I wrote that while tired, so I suppose it also serves as more reason why you shouldn’t go that path. Glad you’re heeding my advice. 😉

Tell Me What You Think

